Mayor announces the Reimagining Atlanta City Detention Center Task Force members


Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms announces the members of the Reimagining Atlanta City Detention Center (ACDC) Task Force. The Task Force is charged with evaluating a use for the Detention Center that could benefit the entire community. 

It is a top priority of the Mayor Bottoms to put this underutilized facility to more productive use as a multi-faceted use center for wellness and healing, skills-building, economic mobility, and crime prevention for people, families and communities impacted by the history of over-incarceration. 

By converting this space, the City of Atlanta seeks to invest in people to break the cycle of poverty while at the same time improving public safety in Atlanta through restorative practices and opportunities that reduce recidivism and re-build lives

“This fight for equity extends far beyond the physical walls of the Atlanta City Detention Center,” said Mayor Bottoms. “This Task Force reflects strong local leadership, willing to help us progress towards a safer, and just city. It is my hope this building will serve as an epicenter for resources, education, and training for the community. With the help of these members, I am optimistic that what is reimagined will be the future of One Atlanta.”

The Task Force consists of 25 members who will be joined by two appointees of the City Council, an advisory group membership of nine experts intimately involved with the work, and fourteen ex officio members who bring their trusted insight, expertise, and government service.  

Mayor Bottoms’ appointments to the Atlanta City Detention Center Task Force are as follows:

Task Force Committee Members

  • Yussif Abubakar, Georgia Detention Watch
  • Attiyah Ali, A Loving Act Inc
  • Devin Barrington-Ward, Black Futurists Group
  • Antonio Brown, City of Atlanta (Appointed by the Chair of the Committee on Public Safety and Legal Administration)
  • Jill Cartwright, Southerners On New Ground
  • Eugene Cooke, Grow Where You Are
  • Shan Cooper, Atlanta Committee for Progress
  • James Curran, Emory University
  • Scrapp DeLeon, Rapper & Actor
  • Derek Duncan, Trinity Community Ministries
  • Burrell Ellis, Attorney
  • Benjamin Graham, Motivation Forward Inc.
  • Shafeka Hashash, Georgia Coalition Against Domestic Violence
  • Alvin Kendall, Attorney
  • Kyle Kessler, Center for Civic Innovation
  • Amber Lawson, Aspire Construction and Real Estate Consulting
  • Steven Muhammad, City of Atlanta Resident
  • Adelina Nicholls, GA Latino Alliance for Human Rights
  • Alexis Rhodes, Millennials for Progress
  • Tiffany Roberts, Southern Center for Human Rights & the Progressive Atlanta Working Group Criminal Justice Task Force
  • T.I., Rapper & Actor
  • Rodney Turner, Mount Vernon Baptist Church
  • Sharon Turner, Save Kids of Incarcerated Parents
  • Gail Tusan, Fulton County Superior Court
  • Matthew Westmoreland, City of Atlanta (Appointed by the City Council President)
  • Toni-Michelle Williams, Solutions Not Punishment Collaborative
  • Elizabeth Wilson, Georgia Micro Enterprise Network

Task Force Ex Officio Committee Members

  • Raines Carter, City of Atlanta, Solicitor
  • Ken Days, City of Atlanta, Chief Public Defender
  • Jason Estevez, Atlanta Public Schools, Board of Education Chair
  • Keith Gammage, Fulton County, Solicitor General
  • Natalie Hall, Fulton County, Commissioner
  • Bill Hawthorne, City of Atlanta, Interim Chief Resilience Officer
  • Nina Hickson, City of Atlanta, City Attorney
  • Paul Howard, Jr., Fulton County, District Attorney
  • Tim Keane, City of Atlanta, Commissioner of City Planning
  • Patrick Labat, City of Atlanta, Office of Corrections Chief
  • Vernon Pitts, Fulton County, Public Defender
  • Christopher Portis, Municipal Court of Atlanta, Chief Judge
  • Erika Shields, City of Atlanta, Chief of Police
  • Joshua Williams, City of Atlanta, Chief Operating Officer

Task Force Advisory Committee Members

  • Xochitl Bervera, Racial Justice Action Center
  • Lindsay Caulfield, Grady Health System
  • David Dreyer, Georgia State Representative
  • Raphael Holloway, Gateway Center
  • Moki Macias, Pre-Arrest Diversion Initiative
  • Bryant Marks, Morehouse College
  • Aaron Nicholson, Atlanta Police Foundation
  • Ashlee Starr, Partners for Home
  • Vassane Tinsley, DeKalb County School District 

The Task Force members were chosen from over 100 volunteers who submitted their nominations from the City of Atlanta, Fulton County, DeKalb County, service providers, community organizations, residents, the academic community, the business community, the faith community, public safety representatives, and elected officials.

The first ACDC Taskforce meeting will take place on Tuesday, July 16, 2019, at 4-6:30 PM in the Old Council Chambers, 3rd Floor, Atlanta City Hall Tower, 68 Mitchell Street SW

Post a Comment